Dealing with clients who don't give you what you need

Hi all,

I’ve been working B2B doing graphic design and branding for about 5 years now. I have never had any problems with deadlines or progress before. However, this new client that I have keeps complaining about how long the design is taking. To be fair, he gave me the project about 3 weeks ago. The problem is- his secretary is an absolute idiot. She is incapable of conveying basic information in a comprehensive manner. I will send the client himself an email asking a few questions about the design, and the secretary will respond and find a way to answer none of them. Despite being given the project 3 weeks ago, I was only given the list of products to design about 6 days ago. I still do not have all of the photos that I need, and I have been sending emails to them asking them to make sure that I have all of the pictures for the last 3 weeks.

The client himself decided to call me and was complaining about how long it was taking. I can’t really tell him that his secretary is the problem, can I?

How should I deal with him? Should I drop him altogether? Should I just charge a pain in the ass fee?

First of all, keep all emails and document everything. Secondly, I don’t think it’s bad to push back a bit and let the client know that, for example, you just received ABC a couple of days ago and you’re still waiting for DEF. The other thing you can do is to rough something up using placeholder copy and black boxes to stand in for photos so they can see what they still owe you.

1 Like

It requires diplomatic skills that carefully split the difference between directly blaming the secretary and letting the client know that you’re not getting the information you need.

Both you and your client want to move forward with this. If your client is unaware of the problem and blaming you, yes, you need to carefully tell him about the problem you’re running into.

2 Likes