Dealing with clients who won't follow your process

Hey guys, I’m new to this forum so I apologize if I’ve posted in the wrong place!
I need some sound advice on how to deal with clients who hire you to do a specific job, agree to your terms, timeline and process, sign your contract, and then immediately do weird things to hinder that process. I’m currently frustrated by a new client that is trying to take the lead and direct me around instead of following my design process. AITA for feeling like I’m being rubbed the wrong way already?

I just recently was hired as an independent contractor to design and develop a website for a client. The client is a former coworker (he was a real estate agent at the office where I was a designer for the marketing department) which is how he knows about me. He contacted me to build a website for his side company. The company is new, and has no existing digital assets or branding. We spoke on Zoom about his needs, and he expressed that he would like a basic website with not a lot of complex functionality. I sent him over a beautiful proposal detailing the timeline, different deliverables/milestones, cost, etc. He emailed back saying that after reviewing with his business partner, they’ve decided they would love to work with me. He also mentioned he would ‘link me into conversation’ with a designer who ‘does a lot of their copy work for his business partner’s other ventures, and that this designer has some HTML background so he can be used as an additional resource’. I didn’t think much of it and was excited to get to work. He signed the proposal and then I sent the contract. He signed the contract and made his deposit for work to begin.