Design Certification?

I just wanted to vent, I finished reading a post on here, and the person who was responding mentioned that until the graphic organization’s bodies get together and make up some real certification we will continue to have wanna be designers doing some really bad designs.
I am not a designer but have been in printing for many years. I work for a printing company that does over 40 million in business so this isn’t a small mom and pop and you would expect that the clients would be larger and more professional. Things have gotten so bad in the last 5 years that I decided to start a web page and a youtube channel to try and help.

BUT yesterday I received a file from a very large college that was supposed to be 16-page small saddle stitch book. The designer had taken an InDesign document, made it 9 pages of 6"x9". Then took pages 2-7 of the document used the page tool and made them 12"x9" basically making a spread. By not just using facing pages and making a 16 pg document with all 6"x9" pages.
So we took it and had to split the pages to get it imposed for our 40" press because the Quantity was large. Since these files are now in our workflow as single pages we made a pdf proof that was single pages and we crop them down to trim size, because most people do not want to see bleed and trim marks.
This graphic instructor called back to the CSR and insisted that the pages be put into spreads because they needed to see it how it would print.

Here is where I am looking for a little input. If this person is teaching people in a large college they are going to go into the workforce designing books like this.

If they can not come up with some type of certification for people to take a test and call themselves a certified designer, shouldn’t there at least be testing that you would need to be able to teach others, especially those who charge thousands of dollars a year to students??