Design for multiple types of merchandise

Hey,

I am a small artist who has been asked to make an album cover. I am planning to do a collage in Photoshop, but I am not very experienced, especially when it comes to maintaining quality and resolutions for printing.

How can I make sure that my client can use the artwork for multiple types of merchandise, not only the album cover itself? My research has told me that i need 3000 px x 3000 px (300 ppi) for a standard album cover, but that will leave quite a small image. Will the client be able to use it, for example, to make big posters/prints on hoodies?

And if I am making a collage, and using images from the internet, how can I ensure that they stay the same quality in printing? I have learned that I should use smart objects when I am working to maintain resolution, but is there more I should be thinking about? what resolution should the images I download be?

I wanted to get all this straight before I started, I appreciate any help i can get :blush:

Thank you

When you say you are “using images from the internet,” what does that mean?
Cuz it sounds bad right from the start. You better be licensiing those images or someone may come after your band for a LOT of money, whether they are famous or not.

As for the rest of your questions, 3000x3000 is too small for an album cover unless you maybe mean a CD cover? Or an image on the internet for a streaming service?

Define ‘big posters’?

Can a photoshopped collage be printed on a hoodie? Probably… but if they are using a service like Teespring, check their file specs to see what you need (if you can find them, LOL!)

Smart objects???
No idea what you are talking about re smart objects and maintaining resolution. Unless you mean vector smart objects…

Make your art way bigger than you think you need. You can always make it smaller. But you cannot make it bigger.
Define that ‘big poster’ and go up from there.

@PrintDriver gave you good advice.