Die Cut card insert

Hello designers! I’m new on here and was hoping to get some advice from you experienced, talented graphic designers.

I’ve been a graphic designer for 17 years and have designed just about everything. But, now I have a client asking me to design a die cut card as an insert for a product they are sending out, something I’ve not done before. My questions are these:

1. What is a good ballpark amount that I should charge for a die cut card design?
  2. Does anyone know where I might find good tutorials for how to design a die cut item?

Thanks so much for any help!!
Lynne

Adding a dieline to your artwork isn’t tricky. It’s a matter of drawing a vector line on the artwork indicating where the printer should make the cut. Typically, you’d add this line to a separate layer named dieline. You’d also make the dieline a contrasting spot color named dieline — not because it will print, of course, but rather to separate it from everything else so that it won’t print and can be used by the printer to make the die.

Die cuts can be simple straight lines or shapes, or more complex and require custom-made dies. Printers will charge more depending on how complicated and time-consuming making the die turns out to be. Not all printers specialize in this sort of thing, which is also a consideration.

As for what you charge, if it’s a simple matter of drawing a line where the cut should be made, as I mentioned, it shouldn’t add anything to what you’d charge beyond what you’d normally charge.