Differences between agency and freelance work

I’ve spent most of my career working in agencies and in-house creative groups. For the last couple of years, I’ve worked exclusively as an independent designer.

I’ve noticed a huge difference in the clients and the type of work I get.

As an independent designer, my clients will say, “We need a brochure designed,” “We need a billboard,” or “I need social media graphics.” My role, in their eyes, is limited to designing nice versions of what they want. When I make suggestions outside their specific requests, I get awkward blank stares that sit somewhere between bafflement and irritation.

The creative teams at the various companies where I’ve worked rarely got these kinds of requests. Instead, clients asked us to help them with their communication and marketing problems. No one ever said, “I need a brochure or an infographic.” Instead, they would say, we have a product to promote or a message to communicate. We need your help figuring out how best to do it.

I’ve always maintained a small freelance business outside my day jobs, so none of this surprises me. However, I don’t particularly like doing one-off handyman design projects for clients, and it’s getting more difficult by the day to hold my interest.

Someone once said, educate your customers.

I sometimes can convince customers that come to me with such a “brochure” request to go for a more thoughtful approach to reach goals by talking about efficacy/efficiency/getting the most for his or her money also in the long run.

But that is way easier when talking to the CEO or owner than when talking to middle management, which already sold a “brochure” to its boss.

And sometimes I am surprised that a “brochure” is the best way to go.

I guess it all depends on whether your customers consider you a designer or an agency.

Do you call yourself a designer or agency when communicating to customers?