Dilemma

Hi there, I am new to this forum. I am facing a bit of a dilemma in regards to a client request. They have asked that I teach them how I built certain files for their photo archive since they have photoshop and want to do it themselves. Teaching them will obviously give them one more reason not to use my services in the future. But. It teaching them makes me feel like I am being difficult - even though this is literally what I do for a living and they are just dabbling. I am trying not to be offended that they have asked me to help them this way. I am trying to find the right words to reply back to them and I would appreciate any insight any of you have.

I don’t know what “built certain files for their photo archive means,” but if all they’re asking is how to tone and save a photo, that’s something they can easily learn themselves. If that’s all they’re asking, if it were me, I’d just show them. Learning to pound in a nail doesn’t make someone a carpenter.

Maybe I’m misunderstanding your dilemma.

Sorry I manipulated photos in Photoshop that the client uses in their marketing materials. Now they want to expand their photo archive using the same Photoshop techniques but they want me to teach them instead of having me do the work.

I have done this kind of thing in the past and charged an hourly rate for the instruction. I didn’t hear from the client again in most cases, but that’s no reason not to do it. If you refuse they will think you are being difficult and find a workaround.

Yes that is part of my dilemma. I also figured I could sell them the raw file with instructions of use instead of teaching them what I did. To offer a template in a way. I don’t want this client to leave feeling like it’s on bad terms even though their request is a conflict of interest

Give me a good reason why I want to cut my own throat.

Suggest Lynda.com, even recommend it.

… or, charge a tuition fee.

… or, if they are good clients, I’d even do it for free.