Do clients need to own the rights of any stock art

Hi everyone - I’m a freelance graphic designer. I have a question about stock art etc - I have a Premium subscription to a stock site and their license says I am free to use images for both personal and commercial projects and to modify it, as well as in a website or presentation or app as part of the design.

What happens if I download a photo and then use it as part of a design for a sell sheet for a client? And then the client pays me for the design? Isnt this standard procedure - or legally, is the client supposed to download the photo and give it to me to use - in a sense, must the client own rights to any imagery used?

Am I “selling” the art to them if I download it and use it in a design that that pay me for?

You obtained the license for your use on pieces you create for the client. If the client wants to use the photo elsewhere, then they need to obtain their own license. You can have the client reimburse you (and it’s also appropriate to add a handling fee), but make sure they understand that you aren’t able to transfer the license to them. That’s a violation of the stock TOS.

Some stock agencies will allow you to license images on behalf of your client. In that case, the client has the license and you don’t, but you can use it to produce designs on their behalf.

2 Likes

Usually it is ok to use alongside a piece when it’s appropriate to the piece as a helpful visual aide. Like using a stock photo of an Oil Rig alongside an article about Oil Rigs.

But if you owned an Oil Rig and wanted to sell merchandise for that Oil Rig and used the stock image on your merchandise that was being sold commercially - then you’d be in hot fracking water.

The EULA and TOC of the stock sites can be a bit murky at times.
I’ve often found the best way to get the info is to contact them directly and request clarification on what is allowed and not allowed.

1 Like