Does my logo need to feature my name?

I am a freelance graphic designer and designing a logo for myself. My company name is basically just my own name

I used to just have my name typed out in a sans-serif, but have since got tired of being like so many other designers + agencies out there

My logo is a customised ‘B’ icon. This feels way more distinctive and very ‘me’ … but it doesnt actually feature my name

I tried, for hours, to incorporate my name but it just doesnt look as good, so Ive left it out.

My decision is that I can just include my name elsewhere in marketing material (e,.g, website, brochure front cover etc) so people see it that way.

But it looks way better as a logo if it is just the customised ‘B’ icon with nothing else forced in there.

This is just one person’s opinion but I think a spelled-out name is optional. I would probably say the opposite to most clients who are a bit clueless about the subtlties of visual branding. However, a good designer ought to be able to navigate the problem of making sure the stand-alone logo is visually associated with the designer’s business.

3 Likes

I used this logo for the 35 years I was in business for myself. It’s my initials the way I have always written them.

3 Likes

I saw the avatar and thought someone new joined the forum. No more spectacled squirrel?

1 Like

My 8-year old granddaughter who drew the squirrel is a College Senior at Georgia State, so I figured she’s had enough self-promotion credits by now. (LOL) I still like squirrels though! … I just figured it’s time for me to act my age! (LMAO)
And Steve, it’s like Eor said in Winnie The Pooh, “Thanks fer noticin!”:crazy_face:

1 Like

I am assuming your name starts with a “B”, even if you didn’t say it outright.