Feedback on assignment

Hi, I am a graphic design student and not yet half way through the course and very much still learning.

My current assignment is to create a logo for IKEA that is simple, clean and minimal, I have stayed with the brand colours as this is already a strong identity.

I have completed the sketches phase and have narrowed it down to three designs that require feedback, and the assignment requires I ask the following questions. Sorry, it is a bit of a list, thank you in advance for your help.

What does the logo represent to you?

Is it legible? Is it easy to read and understand?

What is the core product/service undertaken by the business?

What do you think about the company when you see this? For example modern, international, value.

Does it stand out and catch your eye?

Does it feel genuine?

Are there any technical, legal or budgetary issues that need to be considered?

Take a look at this group on facebook CUA50715 Diploma of Graphic Design

Please forgive me in advance. I understand you’re a student, but I don’t think you’ve managed to provide solid answers to these questions in your work.

This is all not to say some of these logos have potential. If you could refine the graphic in the oval logo to represent the company’s line of work more clearly, that would get one more of the questions answered.

I also like the multiple block logos, Perhaps you could add an additional block into the mix that has a symbol or graphic?

Ah, we’re into another semester.
We should add a topic called The IKEA Store Logo Redo.

2 Likes

Nothing. It just says IKEA

Somewhat, but you’ve jumbled up everything with awkward letter spacing and oddly stacked letters. For example, you’ve made IKEA read as IK E A.