File storage challenge questions

I’m a newbie to graphic design - I work with Photoshop and Illustrator.

Interested to know how people out there store their images.

Thoughts on using memory card vs external drive or other things?

What would the pros and cons be of storing your digital files on Dropbox (and using a Select Sync option so that they aren’t taking up unnecessary space on your hard drive)

Do you upload all of your digital files (personal photos, purchased stock images) on Creative Cloud CC?

Do you think it’s important to back up your Creative Cloud assets in another location?

It is very important to organise your filing and backing up. I have hundreds of thousands of images and other files. I don’t think a memory card would cut it for me. I use the internal SSD for current jobs and associated files. As soon as the job is done, I move the files to an external SSD for archive and again to a duplicate SSD for backup. I use 1Tb SSD external drives because they are cheap and reliable.

Each job has a folder with the job number and customer name/job name reference. Archives are organised with a folder for each month. This makes it easy to find anything if a job comes back in.

I only use cloud services like DropBox for moving files between my office and head office. I would not trust any cloud service for long term archive or backup.

2 Likes

I’m not an expert on this subject, but I’ll answer. I use 2 HDDs - 1 normally active, and 1 for backup which I connect with SATA and power cables only when I’m backing up (at other times it’s disconnected).

1 Like

I was about to type almost exactly what StudioMonkey said.
As far as images for jobs, they are always archived under the client by job. Here we don’t have an image archive used across projects and we do not have team projects shared internally.