First Freelance Gig

As a graphic design student, I have yet to do any paid work for clients. All of my work has been student work. Last year for one of my classes, we worked with a client to do a rebranding project. To my surprise, yesterday I got an email from the owner of the company asking if I would be interested in doing a freelance project. I’m pretty excited to work with a client, and to have my first paid graphic design project.

Any tips on being successful at your first freelance project?
Thanks!

• Don’t underestimate the importance of thorough research.
  • Don’t conceptualize at your computer.
  • Don’t undercharge because you are relatively inexperienced.
  • Don’t forget you are in business to make a profit (and pay taxes).
1 Like

Discuss the project with the client and get a feel for the scope. Get a copy of the Graphic Artists Guild Handbook of Pricing and Ethical Guidelines and use that to write up a contract. Get a partial payment up front and don’t begin work until they sign the contract, agreeing to your terms.

Remember that their first priority will be to reach their customers. Graphic design is about the customers - creativity needs to serve that goal.

Good for you!

1 Like

Take a deposit.

Do not debate with a customer regarding changes or attempt to tell the client what he/she should or should not like. Do what they want, do it quickly, get paid.

No emotional attachment to client work. It’s their piece, not yours.

Thats a rather poor attitude to have. Sure it’ll cost you less time and energy, but will cost you greater in the long run when all of your clients have not seen positive results because you didn’t try to steer them in the right direction.

Emotional attachment isn’t required, but a level of professional responsibility is.

This will be my downfall until I get more experience and confidence lol.

Thanks for all the suggestions guys, I will try to keep them in mind.