Following up after contract job ends

Hi there,

This is a freelance etiquette question.

I’m new to professional freelance. After a friend referred me to a digital design studio, I was hired on a demanding team project with a tight deadline. We all pulled close to 70 hours in a week. As far as I can tell, I was a helpful and valuable team member. Of course, since this is all so new to me, I have that nagging ‘wait-did-I-suck?’ in the back of my head.

Now that the project has wrapped, I would like to email the studio (the head, the producer, and the executive assistant) to say thanks, it was a pleasure to work with them on that project, and I would like to work with them again if the need arises.

Am I overthinking this? Are there any do’s or don’ts? Is it normal to not get any feedback…is it weird to ask?

The only thing I can say is: Do whatever you think is right.

As long as you cashed the cheque … In itself it’s the only compliment.

1 Like

No. It’s a good business practice.

At minimum, I follow up to make sure they received the invoice and to remind them I keep everything on permanent file in case they need to update the project in the future. It’s better to do it by phone than email. I think it’s good to get them talking, then they’re more likely to ramble, and that’s where I learn a lot about them.

Definitely send a follow up to thank them. One, because it’s polite. Two, because it gets your name in front of them again. I don’t think it would hurt to attach a brief PDF portfolio to give the team a better idea of your capabilities (unless you had a portfolio review at the onset of the project). And, no, you didn’t suck. Get that out of your head.

It’s normal. If you hired a plumber, would you call him three weeks later to say the toilet still flushes great?