Font licensing

As I start my freelance business, I was planning on using the fonts that are available in the Adobe Cloud for the majority of my projects for clients. According to Adobe, the fonts within that software are licensed for commercial use.

A few questions arise with this:
-Is this what most freelancers use for fonts?
-Is this safe to do?
-I have a limited startup budget, but I have budgeted a small amount for additional font bundle purchases. Should I add more to this and rely less on the Adobe provided fonts?

As a type designer myself, I’m biased since Adobe is, as is their usual practice, destroying their competition through their monopolistic practices.

As for what I use in the way of fonts. I probably have 5–10 go-to fonts that I use 95 percent of the time, and I own copies of them all. If I need something in a pinch, I’ll use Adobe’s fonts, but I’m gradually switching from the Adobe bloatware monthly extortion racket to Affinity’s suite of design software. I don’t like either my work or my fonts being held for ransom by Adobe when I finally decide to stop paying them.

2 Likes

Nice.
This raises many other questions that I simply cannot wrap my mind around at this point. Maybe some other time…

But fonts… so as a type designer, are you not finding the need to purchase font bundles on a regular basis? Are you suggesting that I should avoid using adobe fonts because that may give them some copyrights over my IP buy using their commercially licensed fonts?

Basically I’m hoping that I can rely on the Adobe fonts for 90% of the work that I hope to do. Otherwise I will need to rework my starting budget to allow for hundreds of $ worth of font purchases.

Dangit, ‘B’. You’re making my head hurt.