Font problems with Adobe Acrobat

I’ve been using Acrobat for about 2 years now, mainly for one particular client. It’s an amazing program and it’s awesome to be able to edit PDFs. However, I’ve been having font problems ever since I started using this program, and this has happened on two different computers — a MacBook and an iMac. Basically, I’m assembling a series of books from other PDFs that already exist. I think this is part of the problem but we only have these PDFs to work with, i.e. there are no original native files. So I’m often using Acrobat as I would InDesign! As mentioned, we’re assembling new books from previous PDFs, merging, combining files and often updating or adding new text within these PDFs.

Also, some of the PDFs for these books can become quite large — around 150 to 300 MB. So that might be part of the problem too.

The problems are that some text will disappear as I’m working on a document or some text will suddenly become garbled (greeked, or as computer symbols). We try to thoroughly proof these books that we’re cobbling together but that doesn’t always catch errors as some font problems suddenly appear when a project is almost finished.

This has been extremely stressful and, so far, no one has been able to give me a clear answer about how to solve this. There have been some other issues as well but the font problem has been the worst. BTW, the font used in these documents is Verdana.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions. Rob

The big problem here is that you’re attempting to do something with PDFs that was never intended when PDF was developed. I’m sure you know that, though.

There are several non-Adobe software applications for editing PDFs. Most only do certain things and sometimes not very well, but are you using any of them? Have you used PitStop Pro? It’s a software tool used to edit/repair PDFs — primarily for prepress. I think almost every commercial printer has a copy.

1 Like