Freelance Design Rates - changing rates with taxes

So I am not a graphic designer full time. I constantly use my skills in every job I am in and even volunteer my skills for a nonprofit quite often. Because of my involvement on the side as a designer and especially through my nonprofit contributions, I’ve been getting a lot of paid design jobs via word of mouth lately. The projects are actually piling up and I’m now working 60-80 hours a week between my full time and freelance work. It’s not ideal but I really need the money so I can’t turn it down. Plus, it comes in waves.

My problem is that before this new client reached out to me, she asked for my rates and I was being very generous especially with the referral and because I wanted her to keep me on for new projects - the referral was also a nonprofit so I was afraid shooting too high would cost me the job. Remember - I don’t do this full time so I’m not even sure what standard rates should be for a designer these days. I found out later and a little too late that they have a pretty adequate design budget from the client who referred me. Today, I just got W-9 forms and did not originally anticipate charging enough to cover taxes. So, now I feel like I shot myself in the foot with my rates.

Do I go back and remind her that my rates don’t cover taxes and I may need to bump up if I am “on the books” and getting as much work as she is now saying she wants to give me? The freelancing is to help with medical bills that my full time job is not sufficiently covering so paying out on this at the end of the year is going to kill me. Of course, working so much overtime is really not ideal either. Ugh, I’m just feeling a little panicky as I am getting back into freelancing as a designer.

Earning income requires paying taxes.
Just like charging money for freelance work is a business that pays taxes.
Sorry to hear you are finding this out the hard way.

Never low-ball your rates.