From photography to watercolor

After twenty plus years doing photography, I’ve gotten interested in watercolor and ink wash art, and hope to evolve these media into professional illustration.

But I’m still new at this, so I absolutely welcome suggestions on how works like this could be made more commercial. I want to do this well.

Siamese_cats_two800INK_panda_20180220_0002

betta_blueblack_800

orca_blue_600

It’s extremely difficult in today’s world to be a professional illustrator. They still exist, but they’re rare. Hand work takes time, and time costs money. Digital photography and inexpensive stock photo sites, have made it cheaper and easier to use photos, so that’s what’s usually done.

One of the most interesting things I’ve seen done with watercolor and ink in the past few years is the title sequence for the Netflix Marco Polo series.

3 Likes

I enjoyed that.

That is cool, thanks for sharing it.

Actually, that’s freakin’ awesome. I love watching ink and water flow.

Illustration is tough. It mostly isn’t about what you want to create, it’s more about what you can create for your client. Most of the stuff we hire watercolor artists for are historical maps for things like battlefields or city history. You’d get a bunch of research material and some direction, do some sketches, then a rough semi-fill of color. Once the direction is right, you finish it. Under deadline and on budget.
If you can hand-letter, even better. Then we don’t have to hire a calligraphist.

Some of the other things we’ve had illustrated in color are native flora and fauna for specific areas maybe for a zoo or nature park, and again, historical battle scenes for which there are no photos (like the Revolutionary War, etc.) Clients are getting sick of seeing the same old historical photos used for the Civil War too, so there is a bit of work there.

We’re not into advertising, but there could be something there for you as well.