Gathering Opinions on Satire in Design

Hello fellow designers!

I am an undergraduate from LASALLE College of the Arts in Singapore majoring in Design Communications (BA Hons) and in my second year. I am currently working on my research compendium regarding satire as a design strategy in critical design practice.

As a background, I will provide context as to how I first got to my research topic:

• I first started out by reading Matt Malpass’ Critical Design in Context: History, Theory and Practices to understand critical design as well as Anthony Dunne and Fiona Raby’s Speculative Everything: Design, Fiction, and Social Dreaming

• From there I got to know that satire can be used as one of the approaches to critical design, and I got intrigued as to how satire can be used as a design strategy in critical design since both of them work to provoke and inquire

Thus, I would like to gather opinions on the effectiveness of satire being used in design - be it graphic design, product design, or even architecture. I know satire has been associated more with memes, but I was thinking how satire can further provoke the minds of the audiences and highlight the purpose of a particular design.

Do correct me if I got any information wrong as I’m still a student learning more about critical design and satire! I would love to hear more insights on these topics and it would be useful if anyone could share with me your insights, or maybe any references that would greatly help me in my research!

The word satire feels a little off-the-mark, to my mind, for what I feel you are looking to define. Of course there are niche areas where satire is utilised in various design disciplines (very rarely in architecture, I imagine). Its use within a more general design process, as far as I can see, is going to be less relevant and confined to said specific conditions. Satire implies a passive-aggressive use of whimsical humour intended to ridicule or insult.