Graphic Design Graduate Programs

Hello, I was wondering if anyone one knew of the most affordable graphic design graduate degree programs on campus in the U.S. thanks

1 Like

That’s a lot of programs. Can you maybe share a little more about your situation?

Well i have a certificate in Graphic Design from one shool and took about 9 courses with my undergrad bachelors degree in something else. I work full time in the field. But want to learn more and get more education, at a program but one that is affordable

Do you work full time as a graphic designer, or in the “something else” field?

Also, are you saying you would move to be near the cheapest program?

I work at a newspaper designing magazines and newspapers at night. And not sure it depends, because I like my job. Would you know of any good graduate programs with cheap tuition?

I haven’t made a study of it, because there’s a lot of them across the US. Figure each state probably has 3 - 5 graphic design programs, times 50, somewhere around 200 programs.

Some community colleges offer a 2-year degree, some universities offer a 4-year degree. Community colleges are cheaper than universities.

Generally, someone who wants to go to school looks into the options near them. You should start your research there. It’s a highly individual thing, more complicated than “good” or “cheap.”

What part of the country are you in? The New York, NJ area have some of the best graphics programs in the world.

But I must ask, why are you so intent on the graduate degree. I’ve been in the industry some 13 years - I’ve never once seen a company even so much as ask for a Masters. Art director positions included.

Do you have an online portfolio? If you’re happy with your current position and paid fairly, why look elsewhere?
It’s a nightmare of job hunting out there for designers. I fell back on my print production experience more than few times for employment.