Graphic design master degree

Hello I’m new on the forum !
I’m studying Product Design in Italy and I would like to specialize in Graphic Design.
I was thinking to get a master degree in Digital Arts and Publications and in Web Designing.

I would like to make you a little interview:

1. In which country you work?

2. How is your daily job as a graphic design? And your week?

3. Which are your personal suggestions to a student for the future in this working field?

4. Are there some Design master degree which you think would be very innovative and requested in the future?

5. If (one day) my portfolio will be very good, will the master degree I wrote up there help me to get into the contemporary Graphic Design working enviroment?

6. Where do Graphic Designers usually work? Comapanies, art and design colletives, at home (freelance)… and?

7. Do you personally think there are more job opportunities as a PRODUCT designer or as a GRAPHIC designer?

8. Do you know some professionals or students I could speak personally with?

Thank you very much for your replies I will be very happy to get all your thoughts about from everybody: professionals and not. You can even answer to some of the questions if you have answers for all… well you are a genius :smile:

Have a nice day!

In the U.S., where I live, Master’s Degrees in graphic design aren’t especially common. I don’t know if the same is true in Italy. I went through my MFA program in graphic design about 20 years ago, so I’ll answer your questions from those perspectives.

Few companies here specifically require Master’s Degrees for graphic design. Having one, might even make those first entry-level jobs a little more difficult since a person with a graduate degree might be seen as overqualified and underexperienced.