Graphic Design Thesis

Hello,

I’m a graphic design student and for my graduation project I have to write a thesis on a problem in the graphic design industry. I would really appreciate topic suggestions because I am stuck.

What graphic design problem?

Getting paid.

2 Likes
  • Oversaturation
  • Crowdsourcing
  • Being under-valued
4 Likes

I think it’s your job to come up with a topic?

As I said, I’m stuck… it would help if you tell me what problems or challenges have you faced as a graphic designer?

I wasn’t joking about getting paid.

It’s a huge issue in the industry as the value of the work is often not understood.
It’s an interesting topic.

2 Likes

I agree, I think it’s a real problem specially for intangible work! However, my classmate chose it as her topic & we can’t overlap topics. :frowning:

She thought of that? I don’t think it reflects too well on yourself.

Honestly, Graphic Design itself is already a big problem.

What do you mean?

I think that’s the biggest problem with graphic design right now.
Getting a job.
Do the research and do the math.

How many jobs identified as Graphic design are there? Be a little creative and include web and a few other niche spheres.

Now, how many design graduates are released into the wild every year from universities (we won’t even get into the self-taughts.)
That right there is a daunting problem.

Then check what the average turnover rate is in jobs. If only 5% of the available jobs per year turn over (and that’s a number I picked out of the blue but feels about right, covid notwithstanding,) what are your odds of landing one of those among all the students in that year? We won’t go into the ones from previous years that still don’t have jobs and are also competing.

To further the problem, how many studios have closed in the past 5 years?
How many opened 5 years ago and are still viable?

Quite honestly, if I were considering this career now, I’d reconsider. Sorry, but true.