Harware and software recommendations

I’m posting in the general category because my question has to do with both hardware AND software.

I’m a complete novice to design. What setup should I try first? I am running Windows 10 Home on a Dell laptop with a touchscreen. I also have a iPad mini 4. Can I draw with a stylus on my Dell touch screen? Can I draw on my iPad with a stylus and somehow have the input go to my Dell? Or, should I buy a graphics tablet, like the ones from Wacom?

I’m presently using Photoshop CS6 and Inkscape 0.92.3, but would be happy to switch to other programs like Affinity or Corel. Thanks for any suggestions. I truly appreciate the advice.

What kind of graphic design you are planing to do?
what dell model do you have? (what it specs?)

Photoshop is remarkably limiting if you want to design professionally.
You’ll need InDesign - that will be your go-to program for nearly every design piece. Illustrator will be your gateway to creating logos, illustrations, and all other vector related graphics.

Photoshop will be for photo editing and perhaps background design for photography related items.

All will come together in InDesign for the final layout.

Not a fan of PC platforms - I wouldn’t trade my IMAC for the world. But you won’t be limited as a designer by your computer choice. Just make sure you have a sufficient graphics card and adequate RAM to run the software.

Biggs graphic card is important for none motion designer?
Every where i check before, the answers for people was for a PC/laptop (for win users) 16GB RAM and i7 processor.

16 gigs ram, a fast processor and a large hard drive. Design programs are scratch hogs and need a lot of clean disk space in order to work speedily. With graphic design, time is money.

1 Like

Thank you, Max, Biggs and PrintDriver!