Has Photoshop changed it's halftone abilities?

Hi everyone! Perhaps this is a weird post, but I don’t know where else to turn.

Back in 2015, before I studied graphic design formally, I would use Photoshop to prepare images for my amateur screenprinting art practice. It was the way my art school teacher taught me in the mid 2000s. I would do the following:

• Image Mode > Grayscale
  • Image Mode > Bitmap
  • Output: ? (I can’t honestly remember)
  • Method: Use Halftone Screen
  • Halftone Screen Frequency: I would experiment here, anywhere from 15-50 dpi depending on the image, my poster size, etc, and also with lines, dots, and diamonds

I would get results like this Bowie grid (made in 2015). This is actually a screenprint with some washout/burn issues, burned from a digital positive I made in Photoshop, but you can still see it has that classic halftone look from the years before computers.

Fast-forward to today: I haven’t done much halftoning since my screenprinting days, and I don’t think I paid attention if I was ever taught this graphic design school (2016-2018) because I felt like I already had the skills. However, when I try to use Photoshop today to get similar results, I feel like the halftone bitmap results look far inferior…much more “digital”. I’m doing the same steps that I did 6 years ago…I feel a little crazy.

bowie-halftone2021

Filter > Pixilate > Halftone

IMG_0390-2

Hi @praxix
I’m aware of that simple method, but I don’t like that it doesn’t give you a crisp, black and white halftone. It’s all muddied with grays.

Also, I am teaching a class about halftones in the future, and this method feels like a bit like cheating…it won’t help students understand bitmaps and halftones as well as the other method I mentioned I like to use

Also, it’s not addressing my question about Photoshop handling halftones differently over the years