Help! Bread package scaling for print!

Hi, I need advice!

First off I want to say I am not a graphic designer, I am a cinematographer/ photographer by trade but recently have been working as a graphic designer in the company that Im currently working for which I am creating a marketing team for (crazy they didn’t have the need for one until recently).

So, I’ve been painstakingly working on several designs for different bread products and have been able to come up with nice designs but now we need to print to have a better idea what the package looks like.

My question is (finally) how do I come up with an exact scale of the packaging? I’m extremely confused at this point because I can’t seem to find a direct answer to my plight!

I don’t quite understand your question. What do you mean by coming “up with an exact scale of the packaging?”

Do you mean the dimensions of the packaging? If so, the obvious answer is to make the packaging the size needed to fit the product, but since that answer is obvious, I have a feeling your question is more complicated than that. Could you please explain in a little more detail what you’re confused about?

In addition, how have you produced these new design ideas? What sotware did you use? Do you understand the production processes necessary to create the files for print? It might help us understand the problem if you could show us what you’ve done. Are these packages paper sacks, pastic bags, cardboard boxes, or something else?

2 Likes

’ve been using illustrator to create the new designs and I vaguely understand the process necessary to create files for print, this has been a crash course for me the last month.

So, the owner has seen the designs and wants to print the designs to the actual scale of the plastic package for sliced bread.

1 Like

I forgot you’re a new forum member and couldn’t link to or post anything. I’ve bumped up your permissions, so you’ll be able to do that if you want to.