Help me recreate this specific starburst effect

Hey. I know how to do a starburst. But the way this starburst was done seems to be hard for me to imagine how to do in photoshop or illustrator. None of the methods I think of can recreate it in this exact same way. Now it might be obvious, but I can’t figure it out. Does anybody have an idea as to how to recreate this starburst exactly the way it looks here?
example

there is no right answer to this.
Photoshop is easy.
Illustrator would be more difficult.
And since I’m not a pro in Photoshop, how I’d do it probably isn’t the right way. But cover your canvas with orange, choose a vanishing point, dial in the eraser tool at various densities and have at it (the shift key is your friend for staight lines. Then apply a gaussian blur to the whole mess. That’s the fastest I can think of. I’m sure there are more uh…polished techniques.

Thanks for the tip! :slightly_smiling_face:

I don’t think “exact” is realistic. I’m quite certain the original artist wasn’t aiming for exact either. Instead, this person probably played around with whatever software tool he or she had until the effect seemed right.

Anyway, in Photoshop…

Create a high-resolution blank image. Use the gradient tool to create a top-to-bottom gradient using whatever colors you like. Go to Filter > Distort > Wave. Using that tool, play around with the sliders until you get a complex and irregular top-to-bottom series of rays. Go to Filter > Distort > Polar Coordinates to create a starburst from the rays. Go to Filter > Distort > Twirl and slightly twirl the image. Go to Edit > Transform > Warp and play around with the control points and handles to warp the image in whatever way seems appropriate. Then crop the piece of the image that looks about right.

There are likely multiple ways to do this in various programs. What I did here was pretty much the first thing I tried.

2 Likes

****Reminiscing about Kai’s Power Tools Gradient Lab

3 Likes