Help! Student in need of Critique and Direction

Hello everyone!

I am a student Graphic Designer in my 3rd year. I am enrolled in Liberty University’s online BFA Graphic Design program. This has been fine, and I have been learning a lot and getting good grades, but sometimes I feel like I’m not sure if my work is even any good, or what I could be doing to improve.
When I post work for critique in classes, I notice that I am consistently performing at a higher level than my peers in the same class. However, Liberty is not exactly an art school, and when I search for examples of student design portfolios online, they are typically way better than my work.

I’m not sure where I stand? I honestly feel like my portfolio needs a lot of work. I am currently trying to apply for internships (I need one to graduate) but I am nervous because I feel like my work examples are not up to par, and I feel like since my program is 100% online I cant really connect with anyone or get real productive feedback or advice.

All that said, I guess I’m seeking advice on three points -

1. What can I do to improve my current portfolio? Does it look like a good start, or is there anything I should scrap?

2. What should I add to make the portfolio better? What sort of projects should I practice?

3. HOW do you find and get an internship?? I search online but all I find are positions posted on really scammy looking job sites that don’t look legitimate.

Any and all advice is appreciated, as I have no idea what I am doing but I am very determined to turn this into a career.

Thank you!

Portfolio -

1 Like

Welcome Aboad Lora! :slight_smile:

We don’t allow first time posters to add links as a spam reduction method. I’ve added your link for you and upped your status a tad if you need to change it.

:slight_smile: :+1:

1 Like

Thank you so much! ^-^

1 Like

Pet peeve of mine: