Help understanding commisions

Ok so a guy asked me if he could use this piece for the visuals of one of his songs. The thing is that I was just fooling around with code and programmed this just for fun. I’m not a graphic designer nor anything so I’m completely clueless about how this works. I feel like if I let him use the gif I should at least charge him something, since I spend all night debugging, but I don’t know how much. Any advice would be appreciated.
trans

Only you can determine what your time + skill + experience is worth. If the price you come up with feels too low and you’d feel hard done by, then it probably is too low. However, if you come up with a price that, if you are being honest with yourself, you feel you’d be screwing that person over, then it probably is too high. The other factor is If you would be selling it to him with exclusivity, or could you sell it to someone else? With or without copyright? The cost for each scenario would be different.

So, work out an hourly rate based on the three factors to find a cost for selling it outright, with all rights included. Then work backwards from that for a licensed version and work out what those license terms would be.

The other issue for me is that using it for a music visual, of course, brings to mind Joy Division’s, Unknown Pleasures (which has been since animated).

This is a difficult question to answer precisely because pricing for design varies widely. The short answer, of course, is whatever the market will bear. Design pricing varies greatly by geographic location.

Be careful with pricing. I did a website once, for a friend. I worked out what I thought was a fair price and broke it down into setup, debugging, and a price per page (there were 64 pages x3 languages). It came to a huge amount so I halved it. It was still too much and my friend had to pay it in instalments. In the end the website did not take off as he had hoped and man I felt really bad.