Help with logo, I don't know how to make it simple

I am making the logo for my intellectual property office, I decided to use a light bulb, a brain and the scales of justice.

I have these sketches that you see in the image, but I am not good at making it as simple and basic as possible, I would also like it to look more serious since it is a law firm, any suggestions?

You’re trying to combine too many ideas. No one can successfully create a viable Frankenstein logo from miscellaneous clichĂ©s and have it spring to life. Pick one concept, then work with it.

Like attorneys, professional designers attend school for many years to learn the basics of how to do these things. After that comes many years of professional practice. I wouldn’t dabble in the legalities of intellectual property — especially if it were a critical component of my business. I would hire an attorney who specializes in it. You might consider doing the same for your logo and related visual branding.

6 Likes

I completely agree with Just-B and moreover, I’d add that the ideas you are trying to shoehorn together are less ideas and more clichĂ©s. You are approaching the job from completely the wrong angle – as most home-made, kitchen table logos do.

Even if you could get that to work visually, what would it say about your business? Clichéd, hackneyed, obvious and unoriginal? Not a great opening gambit for potential customers.

It’s all about horses for courses. Stick to what you’re good at and use it to earn the money to pay for someone who knows what they are doing. Furthermore, don’t be tempted to go to one of these £50 logo designers, or competition sites. Do your homework, build a relationship with someone you trust and are prepared to divulge details of your company to, in order to build a solid brand (not just a logo) for your company. You’ll get what you pay for.