How 2 have branding and differentation in a series

I wrote the book (I am not a designer) and with a lot of help, I did the cover of my first legal thriller (The Perfect Lawyer) in what will be a series. The title of book two in the series is The Perfect Prosecutor, and I’m planning on having the title, author name, all the typography in the same place and using the same color for all the typography, and with the titles being so similar, I’m concerned about people buying the wrong book. Do you have any suggestions for how to maintain the branding effect while still making the book two cover sufficiently different from the book one cover to avoid confusion?

Also the protagonist is the same in both books. He’s changed over from being a defense attorney to being a prosecutor. Would it be wise to use the same image of the attorney on the first cover on the second cover as well (with a different background of course)?

Thanks

He’s still a lawyer though… Just on the other side.

What most do is change to colour
So it be dark, complex, money related, oil

Derive a colour from the theme
Change the image to a different image of the same style

Checkout how Grand Theft Auto utilise the design of the version of the game with the series number

1 Like
1 Like

Thanks very much, Smurf2. That was very helpful, and thanks for the Grand Theft Auto logo link. I’m wondering though if book three or four or whatever should be something like “The Perfect Witness” or “The Perfect Judge,” would I still be able to use the the lawyer image I have now? Just basically have a template, with the same typography, the lawyer-image and a different background, and possibly a different color? (From what I’ve seen of other legal thriller covers the big thing is to get the genre right. And I don’t really see telling the book’s story on the cover.)

You can see by other book coverst they don’t always use the same character on the cover.