How do I break in? Best approaches

I am a self taught graphic designer. I started out about 7 years ago teaching myself Illustrator to make my own graphics. I’ve been using photoshop for a long time too, as a photographer. I have gained a lot of experience over the past several years, and am taking some night courses at a very good design school to improve my skills and methodology. I was planning to go freelance when the time was right, but a couple of months ago, I lost my day job, which didn’t pay very much in the first place. I’ve been working on freelancing, but have only been landing low paying gigs and not enough of them. I’m at the point where I need something to happen real soon. I’ve been exploring freelancing platforms to no avail thus far using proposal methods given to me by a marketing expert. Most of the jobs on those sites seem to either pay too low, be outside of my wheelhouse, or if they pay well and I can do it, there are a ton of proposals for the job. I am not sure if it is better to spend a bunch of hours writing proposals, or to look elsewhere. I have a website. I have a bunch of work that I think is pretty good. I really want to apprentice under a seasoned graphic designer and learn the jedi ways. I think I am talented, and I am super creative, but I am not sure that I am realistically at the level of expertise to get into a fancy design firm. I really just want to work with someone who likes my style and wants me to help them out, and help me develop. I’m looking for good advice here. It’s a pretty scary time for me, but I want to make it, and be able to support myself doing something that I love and am good at. Thanks in advance for any words of wisdom. :slight_smile:

2 Likes

I felt exactly the sae way when I started: highly teachable, good at what I do, great attitude – how come no one wanted to hire me? I strongly believed that if someone just gave me a chance it would make all the difference.