How do I know how far I can go before Copyright is an issue?

Hi, I was wondering if anyone had experience with copyright laws

I have a design based on the rainbow hummingbird that I want to sell on apparel but am not sure if it would be considered “derivative art”

I used the photo is the rainbow hummingbird by Christian Spencer. It would be the first image if you typed in rainbow hummingbird into google images

I’m not good with the legal mumbo jumbo but I believe it is transformative enough and has enough artistic expression to not be considered a copy

I also don’t want to offend any artistic integrity but I think its a good design

Cheers and thanks for the help!

I am not an expert in this area, but given that, by your own admission, you took that piece and amended it, no matter where you go with it, it surely has to be considered derivative.

As far as I know it is only if it is independently and coincidentally similar, you wouldn’t be infringing copyright. If you have taken a known work and adapted it, it has to be an infringement. You only get to claim copyright for original work, not piggy-backing.

Hey MrC,

Like sprout, I’m not an expert either.

From what I know, the only way you could get away with that, is if you were purposefully mocking it. You know, like TUNA with the PUMA logo. Or does CSpencer allow people to do whatever they want with this work? You could ask… (though it’s a bit optimistic).

The truth is, you’re not likely to get into trouble unless you make it big somehow. On the other hand, if you made it big and then someone started copying your work, you’d probably be a bit annoyed too. Maybe think about it from the other point of view?

Finally, sometimes, we are inspired by the work of others. It can’t be helped. If that’s the case often with you, you could consider studying works which are out of copyright already. Then you don’t need to worry!