How do you get logo design clients?

I’m a freelance logo designer and I just started out late last year. I got a few clients from reddit but it’s been hard recently, I haven’t gotten a single client in months so I was just wondering how you guys do it, I got too comfortable with reddit and now I don’t know any other way.

By the way I’ve heard about word of mouth and crowdsourcing sites and those didn’t work out for me. I live in the suburbs of a third world so, it’s no use I’d be working for less than minimum wage, and I haven’t had any luck with Zombo.com and upwork either.

1 Like

This will likely not be what you want to hear, but logo design is not the easy path to a career that the amateurs and aspirants seem to think it is.

Logo design, in and of itself, is not really even a serious discipline. It is, in fact, just a part of branding.

As you have found, crowdsource sites do not deliver the easy riches they promise. Why? Because they are peddling snake oil. They are offering a service to both ‘designers’ (I use the term loosely) and clients that simply won’t work.

I am assuming you are uneducated, unqualified and inexperienced in design. If you are of the same mind as thousands of other people out there that design is a bit of a cool way to earn a living, give up right now and find another path.

However, if you have a genuine – and I mean genuine – passion for the subject. There is only one real route to achive that (well, there is a send, but more of that later). If, as you say, you are living off the beaten path, you will need to move to a city with a good university, find a job to fund yourself through it, get a place in that university and get yourself a solid degree. After that, probably four to five years of experience, working in the industry. Only at that point will you have a clue what you are doing. At that point you will realise why logo design, the way the current trend sees it, is not a thing.