How much of Web Design role should be Designing?

I am two years in my current role and applied for a position advertised as a ‘Web Designer’. However, not much of my role is actually designing. Maybe I am naive and don’t understand the everyday tasks of a Web Designer. I do understand that no design role is 100% creative work every day, but this role is perhaps 10% designing.

There is a lot of work with Additions and Amendments, Analytics, Looker Studio, Google Tag Manager and IT support that I did not envisage in my current role. I feel like I’ve been duped a little. It is all experience and good to expand my knowledge, but I am a designer and need more creative work, even 50% on average would suffice.

Am I naive or is this just the reality of being a web designer.

A web designer designs websites (obviously.) But the job of creating websites means studying the company in question, following the analytics and doing the mundane tasks as well as the designing.

You don’t say whether or not you had experience before this job. You might be appalled to know that in an entry level job, 10% of creative design is probably pretty good.

When you interviewed, did you ask for the job description? Did you get to speak with the people you’d be working with? Did you ask questions?

Have you had any discussion with your boss about moving up the design chain?

If you continue to work while feeling angry at being “duped,” you will always be unhappy.
If you want our permission to job hunt, go for it.

Every job is different from every other job, despite the job title. I’ve never had a job as straightforward as I assumed it might be when I took the job. I’ve also never had a job that didn’t evolve into something a little different after I eased into the position.