How to check colour difference?

Hello Everyone! I would like to ask about how to check color difference? For example if a create a poster when I deliver to the clients, they often complaint about the color difference. I’m a video editor and edit short videos using Alight Motion. the final video color also varies device to device.

Did you get colour samples from client?
Did you provide colour samples to the printers?
Did the printer supply colour samples?
Did the client sign off on colour samples?

If colour is that important to them then it’s worth following the 4 steps above or a combination of.

Colour will vary from printer to printers, and it will vary from device to device, even at the same printers.

If they need it to be matching something they have to supply it to you, or you have to supply samples to them.

Edit and colour will vary from print process to print process.

1 Like

So many other factors. Paper stock, humidity, calibrations etc

What were your pdf settings if you can share them?

1 Like

for print, anything other than a hard proof and they get what they get. As far as video editing, if your final product doesn’t match your initial tests, that’s on you.
Every monitor/phone/tablet/wristwatch/whatever will have different monitor specs.
“Match what I see on my monitor,” is a chuckle-inducing industry meme at that point.

Are you delivering printed posters or electronic files?

Color differences between what? Their monitor and yours? What they see on a printed proof as opposed to what they see on their monitor? A printed end poster as opposed to the same poster that was printed previously?

1 Like

@PrintDriver and yet, our real estate sign customers expect exactly this, or nearly this.
Some of them even spec pantone colors w/o having ever seen a physical fandeck and expect us to ‘match’ whatever that color is apparently supposed to look like in their mind.

Used colors in a brand book supplied by the head of marketing.