How to efficiently cut from an image

Hello everyone. I hope that this is the correct area to post this. I am not a graphic designer and have little to no experience. However, I have been interested in learning and now I am almost being forced into it. My wife and I have decided to get into vinyl cutting and sublimation so having at least minor skills is going to be beneficial. I’ve got my first opportunity at a job for a friend who opened up a truck repair shop. He took a picture of the truck and needs a duplicate of the vinyl striping design. How can I take this and create an image that has everything cut out except for this decal? I tried opening in inkscape and using the trace bitmap to make a vector but the colors are reading too closely and not separating. I have only Inkscape and GIMP as I can not afford Adobe. Any help or direction is greatly appreciated. Thank you!

You may not like this response and I am sorry, if this sounds a bit harsh, but I am constantly baffled and irritated by the amount of people who say similar things to you. ‘I have very little knowledge and don’t really know what I am doing, but am opening a design-related business doing exactly that.’ Absolutely nothing wrong with the first part of that statement, but combined with the second half…

How is that fair to people who are offering you money for a service? You have to know exactly what you are doing before selling a service. How come this is so prevalent throughout the design industry? You’d never get away with that as a lawyer, chiropractor, or pretty much any job where you are selling a service based on knowledge and skill.

Personally, I’d say learn the craft, spend countless hours getting good at it. Then go get a couple of years experience in the industry. Then – maybe then – you will be equipped to run your own business – assuming, as well, that you have any sense of business acumen.