How to increase creative juices

Hi everyone,

Im fresh to this type of thing, but I’m hoping someone can help me out.

I have been a designer for several years now but have fallen into an uninspiring design role for the past 3 years. I need to find an online course that will help me get my creative juices flowing again. I know how to use my design software but I’m looking for a course that will show me new ways to creative amazing designs.

Does anyone know of a course I can do online?

Thanks guys :slight_smile:

1 Like

I don’t think that there is a course to teach creativity.

I typically go for walks at work, check out shops and look at packaging, advertising, what have you, to get my head in a different space than my desk. I’d say 95% of my great ideas happen when I’m not at my desk.

I also do a simple design/illustration problem every morning. Right now, the problem I solve differently every morning I’ve called “me”; I start with the morse code equivalent of the word “me” ( _ . . ) and illustrate something about myself/mood that incorporates the morse code pattern. I only allow myself ten minutes to complete my illustration. For me, this exercise helps remind me that there are infinite solutions to a design problem; the added bonus of getting to create something for myself every morning starts my morning off on the happy foot.

Hi kemingMatters. Thank you for your reply. I will take on board your suggestions and I will give design problem a go in the morning :slight_smile: thanks again

Try to read, try, do, experience things that by default you may find really not for you. For example learn how to do crochet, try eating jelly fish, go for a hot yoga class, do a tandem skydiving, read a magazine about tattoos, visit an abandoned town in the desert, etc.

Inspiration and creativity is about realigning your neural pathways to work in a different way.