How to respond to clients

Okay so below are the 2 logo designs i sent to a client.
i sent her a logo questionnaire, and although i asked to send inspiration logos she liked, she didn’t really have anything in mind, she just wanted it to look clean and professional.

i sent these and this was her reply.

“My partner liked them however we found that both designs are very similar, would you be able to create something different so we can compare?”

she said he liked them, but wanted more?
am i supposed to ask her what she liked about them, or which she liked more, and we can tweak it?

please keep in mind. i am not a big agency that designs multiple logos and charges big $$.
i am a freelancer who likes to create logos for small businesses. she knew she was getting 2 logos designed.
is this a case of them trying to see what else i can come up with because they dont even know what they want?
i get confused with how to respond with these sort of clients?

Your contract should be structured to cover clear quantification of deliverables at each stage of the process. You must also be willing and able to educate your clients as to how the process works, and that extended periods of trial and error resulting from a lack of their input will cost extra. Make it clear to them that having you blindly run ideas past them is not in the best interest of an optimal result, nor will it be free of charge. Frame it as though you’re on their team, encouraging them to pursue a direction you’ve already presented “so we don’t blow the whole budget on the first step.” You’ve got good concepts there; believe in them and sell.

A big agency wouldn’t design multiple widely varying logos either.
But a big agency wouldn’t also “just be doing logos.”

You could explain that based on their answers to your “questionare” and after many hundreds of sketches based on that information, these are the two best designs. They aren’t wildly different because…you fill in the rest.