How to start?

I want to ask for some advices…

I’m a teen and a beginner in design. I’ve won some not serious design contests. I’m interested in what I need to start filling my portfolio with attractive works? Maybe You can advice some principles of operation, books, good designers or freelance exchanges?

Thank You!

Welcome to the forum cereus.

Graphic design can take you many different directions. Decide which direction you are most interested in, and then the books you need will be obvious.

Do some volunteer work to fill your portfolio. Don’t try to get paid yet. It will only distract you from learning.

2 Likes

Are you still in school? Does your school have any art or design subjects? Can you talk to your art teacher to see if there are any resources they can help you with at school?

Are you contemplating going to school to learn design? When I was a teen and had to apply for various design schools, we had to have an application portfolio. So anything you do right now could be working towards that application portfolio. Don’t be afraid of replacing less strong work with better work as you improve. Seriously, talk to a teacher or a recruiter about what is in a portfolio.

1 Like

Thanks a lot for answer! I’ll try to search for some volunteer work…

Every single time I’ll go with the same answer when someone asks this question. In the long term, get yourself educated. Go to university and learn your craft. It’s a long haul.

Once you have your degree and then get your first job is when you really start learning the trade, but for 90% of people you need the degree to get you through the door (there will always be exceptions) if you want to play in the big leagues. That said, in all the years,I’ve never once been asked about it, it’s all about the portfolio. I just don’t think I’d have even got in the door without one. It is just assumed you do (and, of course, it’s on your CV (résumé))