How to transition from CMYK black to 100K

Ok, I’ve been a graphic designer for a long time so am slightly embarrassed to ask this, but I’ve never come across this specific scenario. I’m working on a poster in InDesign utilizing an image that has some very dark edges, and I want to smoothly transition into a black box occupying the top half of the poster. The problem is that I need to place white text & graphic elements over the black box, so I don’t want to use rich black. Basically, I’m unsure how to make smooth transition from the image to 100K black. I have full Adobe Suite if that helps. See attached image for reference of my issue. Thanks!

There are probably a dozen ways to do it, but I would open your photo and modify your canvas size to extend the top part of the image to be large enough for your poster and then either sample and fill in Photoshop or copy a portion of the top and stretch and fill. You may need to use a slight gradient mask on the black fill to account for any slight variation in the black.

1 Like

Either have the photo on top overlapping a black box and fade out the top edge of the photo or have a black box on top of the photo and fade out the bottom edge of the black box. The fade can be done a number of ways depending on what app you’re using – use a mask, fade to 100% black with 0% opacity, etc.

There are ways to make the fade from the 4-color black background to a flat 100% K background, as @Steve_O mentioned. However, I wouldn’t do it. There will be a noticeable visual difference between the dark, rich black and the weak, flat, lifeless black-only black.

Instead, I’d do as @CraigB suggested and extend the rich black in the photo while avoiding small white text and choking back the CMY a point or so away from the edge of the letters to ensure a good trap.

2 Likes

I’d expand the background in photoshop and the blend in 50% Cyan and 100% black at the top.

But this all comes with caveats.