I got written up at work for 'Multiple revisions'

I got a ‘written warning’ from my supervisor at work for a design project having ‘multiple revisions.’

Some background: I have been working as the in-house graphic designer for 8 years and we just got a new VP of fundraising, who is really picky and opinionated about design, and who now is the ‘sign-off’ person - not sure if she has any background as an art director or managing design projects, but I doubt it.

This was for the annual fundraising letter, which is typically pretty simple and doesn’t have many ‘design’ elements. It went through about 3 rounds of revisions with her, (changing the color of text headers, trying different treatments of the main page heading, moving the sidebar up and down, etc.) where I responded appropriately to each requested change. The VP communicated all changes to me through my direct supervisor who is not really an art director, primarily a writer. She kept rejecting the stock photo choice in particular, even though I responded to her notes on what to change each time which was very frustrating. After that, there were a couple more rounds of overall revisions from the CEO weighing in.

Does this seem reasonable and is it common for a designer to get ‘written up’ because there were ‘too many revisions’, as if it is the fault of the designer? Or is my supervisor out of line?