I need help with my business orientation

Hello, my name is Marina.
I am a graphic designer. However, I decided to turn my skills in a more professional direction.
I created a portfolio, and I started applying for jobs in Upwork, dribble, freelancers.
My concern is that after almost four months of an extensive search, I did not gain any position.
I managed to win a competition on 99designs and a competition in a poster contest.
Now I decided to sell my logos to some sites, but this is only a starter.
I just would like to know your opinion and possible advice.
Thanks
Marina

Hello Marina, try to avoid sites like 99designs. As a designer, you need to value your work and profession. Maybe you should start by offering your services and searching your local area to find/fill a niche.

Clients shouldn’t be deciding amongst a grab bag of designers (which is what 99designs can be), people who aren’t invested in the research, development or outcome.

1 Like

You don’t say how much experience/education you have as a graphic designer.
Playing for pennies on crowdsource sites and selling “logo designs” on “stock sites” sort of implies no experience.

These sites you “sell logos” on. Do you sell the same logo on several different sites? Do you take them down from all sites once one is sold so that it becomes the property of the person who downloaded it first? Do the sites offer the logos only as “stock”? In which case, have you read their licensing agreement (which 98% of the time will say that stock offerings cannot be used in logos)?

Even offering a logo on a site, take down or not, shows little understanding of the branding process.