I need some help

I am a beginner. I like to design logos and posters… But recently I decided to start freelancing and succeed and make it my job. I started participating in contest sites and won some. but that’s not effective at all. You spend 5 hours to make a logo and then the contest holder just eliminate it due to abundance of designs. I see that even the top designers of these sites have a lot of project out of the contests. Can you please give me an advise or anything to make me go to my next level. How to market to myself… I don’t know where to begin. I have to mention that in my third world country we don’t have the culture of designing by a freelancer, Just the big agencies. I hope you got what I mean. Thanks!

This is such a common question here, that I saved my response so I can paste it in.

You find clients through a strategic mix of marketing communication potentially including but not limited to: formal networking events, informal networking, trade organizations, trade shows, public relations, a web presence, a social media presence, traditional advertising (potentially including but not limited to direct mail, broadcast, and out of home), online advertising, SEO, cold calling, third party websites, and referrals. Oh, and you have to do great work and have a great reputation.

1 Like

Steve gave some excellent advice, and it’s the standard, tried-and-true way of marketing oneself. A realistic strategy on how to go about doing these things is probably what you need to think about.

You mention being from Algeria in your profile. Maybe you see your location as being away from the mainstream of most work as being a disadvantage. On the other hand, what does a designer from Algeria have to offer that designers in other countries might not have? For one thing, you have a native understanding of North African culture, which gives you an advantage when looking for freelance work from, say, Europeans with interests of various kinds in Algeria.