I suffer from regular burnout

I suffer with regular creative burnout. I’m in my third year of uni and often experience burnout at least once per semester. I currently manage it with project/time managment, taking breaks during projects, or even extended periods of not working when I’m ahead. Do any of you suffer from burnout regularly? How do you manage it?

What do you mean by burnout? Do you mean you lose the desire and spark to do the work, or do you mean the ideas just aren’t coming because you’re exhausted?

I’ve been in this field for many years, so burnout might mean something different to me. Frankly, I get bored with the repetitiveness of some of it. After I’ve designed a magazine or a catalog or a website for the umpteenth time while working for clients whose idea of great is conservatively average, I get bored and my mind wanders to more exciting things, such as doing the laundry or vacuuming the floor.

What keeps me moving ahead sometimes is, honestly, the need to earn a living. Once I get started on a project, it’s usually smooth sailing, but the initial pen-to-paper beginnings are often not what I want to be doing, so I often have to force myself to sit down and begin.

Occasionally, an exciting project arrives that demands thought, research, and creativity, but nine times out of ten, I’ve been there and done that a hundred other times. I could almost do the work in my sleep if it were possible.

2 Likes

Not romantic, but sage words all the same.

What I mean by burnout is the emotional disengagement with the project. That feeling when you just stop caring. I agree that starting is the hardest part. Once I get the ball rolling again I’m all good

Getting the ball rolling again is the trick.