IKEA Rebranding

Hey guys, i’m a current graphic design student learning about branding and identity at the moment. As part of my assessment i have been commissioned to re brand the identity of IKEA. As for the re branding, a logo is required. I have 2 comprehensives and was wondering if anyone could give me some feedback on some questions relating to the logo designs.

Questions are as follows:

1. What does the logo represent to you?
  2. Is it legible? Is it easy to read and understand?
  3. What is the core product/service undertaken by the business?
  4. What do you think about the company when you see this? (List a range of key adjectives for them to choose from ie innovative, stylish)
  5. Does it stand out and catch your eye (you may want to include a visual amongst your competitor logos)
  6. Does it feel genuine?
  7. Are there any technical, legal or budgetary issues that need to be considered?

Logo designs:
IKEA
IKEA%202

Thankyou!

Neither of these options work.
First and foremost, IKEA is a known brand. You do not have to illustrate the concept of their furniture in a logo. That’s kinda like putting a toilet into the logo of a plumber.

Second, your letterforms are too thin, whispy. IKEA is a big huge warehouse building. They put their logo on the outside of those buildings. Those skinny elements cannot be manufactured easily or efficiently into the kind of illuminated signage needed for the side of a building, especially that letter “e” in the second example. While the first example might possibly be made out of some form of neon, that color blue doesn’t exist in any of the gasses available (I’m not so sure about the yellow either.)

1. What does the logo represent to you?
Something skinny, not sturdy, likely to fall apart.

**Is it legible? Is it easy to read and understand?**

Not from a distance. Will not serve well on any kind of collateral. It will be easily overpowered by other elements in a layout.