Illustrator: How to create outlines that are vectors

Hi everyone! :smiley:

I am relatively new to Illustrator and I need to create some designs that will be embroidered/stitched onto clothing/shoes. The manufacturer will create the final embroidery files because that’s a bit of a specialized process but I would like all elements of the images I create to be vectors.

Below you can see the type of designs I will have to create. Solid colors/shapes and an outline. How do I create the outlines in a way that it is basically a shape and not just a path with colour attached to it? I hope that makes any sense.

Thank you in advance. :blush:

In Illustrator, go to Object > Path > Outline path.

However,
if your stroked shape has a fill, the fill will go halfway to the center of the outlined stroke, making, in effect, a pretty hefty trap. To avoid this, make a duplicate of the shape first, then remove the fill, then outline the path, then remove the path from the filled shape below.
It’s tedious but beats the alternative by a mile.
If someone can tell me if I’m missing a radio button to avoid this, I’m all ears.
:slight_smile:

Then when you have all of your paths outlined, select them and go to Pathfinder > Unite (the upper left icon in the palette.) They should all become one compound shape. View your work in Outline view often. For embroidery, there should be no lines cutting through shapes. You may have to clean up with the pathfinder. It’s a very handy tool.

You could also use the Expand function, and you may have to on those pattern fills.
I like having the control of the Outline Path. Sometimes with Expand or Expand Appearance, you get unexpected results.

1 Like

Awesome, thank you for the detailed tutorial. :smile: It may be tedious but definitely better to have a clean result. I agree, if there is a radio button for this please share it, everyone!