Image darkenes when I put it in InDesign

I have this image that I want to place in an InDesign document:
image1

But when I place it in an InDesign document, the image darkens:
image2

How can I avoid this?

Probably has something to do with your color management settings or document setup.

I’m not an inDesign expert but if it’s anything like Illustrator, the image may visually change appearance in-preview if the document colorspace is CMYK and the RGB image is converted to CMYK upon placing.

That’s what your images above look like to me, anyway.

3 Likes

Building on what @WheresMyCoffee said, your original image is an RGB file that has colors that can’t be printed in CMYK. InDesign is showing you how your image will look when printed in CMYK.

If you want InDesign to display the original RGB file, head up to your main menu and select View. If Proof Colors is checked, uncheck it

Color management in InDesign is sort of a messy thing, and there are gotchas all over the place. For example, you might also have the wrong setting selected in View > Proof Setup. You might also have the wrong settings selected in Edit > Color Settings.

Keep in mind, though, that if you’re preparing your artwork for print, it’s going to dull down when printed to something similar to what InDesign is showing you since that bright green can’t print in straight CMYK. You’ll get slightly better results with CMYK+ digital printing, but that depends on the digital output device.

3 Likes

Proof Colours was already unchecked.

These are the Colour Settings. What do I need to change? Eventually I will need to print.