Image sourcing for portfolio projects

hello! i am a graphic design student, about 1 year away from graduating but unfortunately a bit behind because i switched my major late (my senior year is gonna be insane…). recently, we learned how to make magazine layouts in class and i found myself really enjoying it and i am considering making one for a personal portfolio project.

i was looking through people’s projects on behance out of curiosity, and noticed a lot of them used images that didn’t look like stock images to me. i know that i cannot just use images off the internet, espcially if it’s for monetary gain. i am just a little confused on how people use images of, like a specific band persay, and are able to include it.

to be honest, i am not a 100% sure of what im asking, i am just very confused on image sourcing.

Bands or any kind of entertainment organization typically have many promotional photos that they’ll gladly share with any publication willing to write about them. It’s a win-win for everyone. In addition, many publications have staff photographers or hire freelance photographers for specific shoots.

I get the sense that you are looking for photos to use as content in your portfolio project. Is that the case?

If so, my word of warning would be to proceed with caution.

When it comes to licensing stock photos – and, yes, you can license a stock photo of a famous person – there will be a big difference between “editorial use” and “creative use.” What you are talking about doing is using a famous person’s image to promote yourself. I believe that would fall under creative use and would likely not be covered by a license.