InDesign Help Noob 4 Big Job

Hi world,

I work as an IT in a fashion company. Recently, due to covid-19 and budget cuts, they assinged me to design the next catalogue for winter 2021 ( i have some knowlegde in graphic design - photoshop, illustrator and after effects, as its my passion since college ) but I have some blank spots in InDesign, not (yet) in the designing process but in printing mostly. The catalogue is supposed to be around 100 pages. I think it’s not correct just to set up the catalogue using pages. My logic says that it must be developed by sections and then must glued together in the printer. Am i right ? Any advice on how shoud I set up my document ?

Don’t start it from scratch; use the previous catalog and just change content as needed. Save As…

Those sections are called signatures, and yes, you’ll need to ask the printer how large the signatures will be. Books, magazines, catalogs, etc., aren’t printed one page at a time. Instead, multiple pages are printed on one large sheet of paper. The individual pages are “imposed” by the printer (which means the printer arranges them) in a way that when the sheet of paper is folded and trimmed, all the pages are in the right order within the signature.

Signature sizes vary depending on the size of the book and the size of the printing press. A typical signature might be 24 pages, so your approximately 100-page book would actually be 96 pages. That said, the printer can insert an extra four pages, but those four extra pages will, in effect, constitute a separate signature and will cost more since it might require a separate press run. Keep in mind that you need to think in terms of multiples of four pages.