Industry Standard Website builder?

Graphic designer by trade looking to land employment with a team. What is the standard website builder that freelancers and agencies are using nowadays?

I know there is no way smaller business websites are getting built from ground up in dreamweaver using code.

WordPress is the dominate platform, though not the only platform.

In terms of a standard builder, there are a number of framework and WYSIWYG page builders out there. But I don’t think any one can be declared the industry-standard.

I hand-coded my website from the ground up with a text/code editor, so I wouldn’t say no one is doing it.

As Steve said, WordPress is the most popular CMS for general small- and medium-sized sites. Personally, it’s not my favorite CMS, but it’s relatively simple compared to Joomla or Drupal, and there are tons of online resources and add-ons available from thousands of developers. If the site is more specialized, such as this forum or an e-commerce site, more specialized CMSs are often a better bet than WordPress.

I’d stay away from the drag-and-drop website builders, such as Wix or Weebly, however. They don’t measure up for professional-quality business purposes.

2 Likes

I was speaking of freelancers and within agencies, providing websites for profit.

Question would be, Would YOU hand-code a website for a business that came to you that needed an About us, Services, Portfolio, Contact us?

I wouldn’t hand-code it from the ground up, but there’s a good chance I’d hand-code or modify an existing template or theme using a code editor. That would likely only be for five-figure and up sites, though.

For smaller sites with modest needs and budgets, an off-the-shelf framework/theme would work if it came with some good backend customization features — Elegant Theme’s Divi, for example.

There really is no standard way of building websites, however. Every team goes about it differently with their own preferred set of tools and workflows.

1 Like