Info to include when sending design for print?

I’m working for a growing company and they need packaging designs sent to the factory that produces our products. They’ve had issues in the past with the packaging not coming out with the right color.

I’m new to packaging design. While working with a colleague they mentioned that we are sending over the design for a 5 color process (CMYK+1 Pantone color). I have a very base knowledge of what all the means.

What information/instruction do I include for the factory that’s printing our packaging to make sure they print the right colors? Do I provide the color codes? I’m sending over the packaging design files as .AI and PDF files. Are they able to tell from those what colors are needed?

What part isn’t coming out right? The CMYK part or the 1 spot color pantone?
(and is it applied to the file as a spot color or did you make it CMYK with the rest of it?)

Are you a graphic designer?

Get a printed proof.

Pretty standard before committing to a large expensive print order.

Could be where they are getting it printed too. Some online gang printer that doesn’t particularly care about color matching could be involved as well. A proof is always in order. Not paying the $50-$150 for that on a $$$$$ order is foolhardy

Yes, a printer can tell from an .ai file what colors are in the file. If the files are prepared correctly, a printer should be able to print them correctly. If a Pantone color was specified, they should be able to match colors very closely.

However, I don’t know if the files were prepared correctly and I don’t know anything about the printer you’re using. As was mentioned, did you see a proof? They’re standard procedure. If the proof looked good but the printing turned out bad, you’re entitled to a reprint.

Any one of a million things could be at fault. Without knowing exactly what you’re working with, it’s not possible to say with any certainty.